Our Savior’s congregation was begun over half a century ago by “northside” members of Trinity Lutheran Church concerned about the safety of their children crossing the railroad tracks that divide north Moorhead from south Moorhead.
Originally established as a Sunday School and “chapel” for members of Trinity, Our Savior’s quickly grew into a vibrant congregation independent of its mother church.
During the bustling, prosperous years after World War II when the population of Moorhead’s north side exploded, Our Savior’s rapidly outgrew its first two buildings. In 1957, the present sanctuary was dedicated and in 1995 and 2004 many spaces within the building were remodeled and updated.
Today, the congregation has over 1,700 baptized members.